XR650L throttle bog

Introduce yourself, what you ride, post pics, seek or offer help, general chit-chat.
Mk13

XR650L throttle bog

Postby Mk13 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:27 am

I bought a 2008 XR650L with an aftermarket tank. When riding in 5th gear and sometimes 1st the throttle bogs down when I give it a quick crank. Then after my recent 2 hour 45 minute ride I noticed when the bike was turned off air and fuel were kind of bubbling out the fuel cap air line. Not bad just letting out some pressure I suppose. I'm new to this stuff. Bike has 7800 miles and is basically new. I figure it's a carb adjustment or a air line issue with the tank that's making it run out of tune but what do I know. Any ideas? Anyone have this issue before.

Thanks!

JoeRC51

Re: XR650L throttle bog

Postby JoeRC51 » Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:18 pm

Is the air coming out or sucking in ? As far as the bog , does the bike actually slow momentarily or is it more of a lag in the throttle response ?

Mk13

Postby Mk13 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 10:14 am

Not sure if sucking air or air coming out. It bogs on the very last portion of the throttle twist. My buddy took it out and I saw some black smoke. To rich? We also have to adjust the throttle. The grip can twist about 1/8 of a turn with no response. If I pre turn it it's fine if that makes sense. The snorkel is off and it has a KN air filter I checked yesterday. Stock exhaust. From the outside it doesn't appear to have the Dave mod on the carb. (Adjustment lever) is not ground down.

JoeRC51

Postby JoeRC51 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 3:38 pm

Black smoke is rich. Is the Filter clean ? If the tank isn't venting , it could be building up pressure in the tank and overpowering the floats in the carb. The fuel screw is only for idle and slightly above. Somebody may have put a larger main jet in it. If you bought the bike from somebody at a lower altitude than yourself , that would make it go rich too.

Mk13

Postby Mk13 » Mon Aug 22, 2016 4:08 pm