01 DRZ400S Cheap Upgrades

Introduce yourself, what you ride, post pics, seek or offer help, general chit-chat.
4Strokes
Site Admin

01 DRZ400S Cheap Upgrades

Postby 4Strokes » Sun Jun 05, 2016 11:49 am

Topic: DRZ400S cheap upgrades
Author: matt_ct
Posted: 07/12/2005 12:22:55 PM

I just bought an '01 DR-Z400S, the two previous owners have left it stock. I need some more power. I'm pretty new to all of this so I'm not sure what my best options are. I am a die hard K&N fan so of course I have already installed the air filter. I will be riding the bike between 4,000-9,000 feet and half road, half trail riding. What do I need to do to open the air box? Is there a downside to that? I don't want to spend much money does that mean a pipe is not my next step? Most importantly! The bike started to cut out when I really get on it? is this most likely jetting? should I be working on getting the bike some more air before getting smaller jets? Any help would be great, limited experience make it semi-simple. THANKS

Reply by tomass on 07/12/2005 4:41:18 PM
Hey. Definitely don't get a smaller jet. Your bike is already lean from the factory. I don't know what the cause of your bike cutting out is, but I can answer your other questions.

First of all, there are no cheap upgrades that I know of. You would want to get an aftermarket exhaust, or open up your stock exhaust. Until you do that, a KnN air filter and opening up your air box will make little difference. If you do that, you will need to get a Dynojet jet kit.

Reply by smcelhe on 07/13/2005 09:31:10 AM
My friend and I have 03 DRZ400S. both our bikes had a minor hesitation when we got on the throttle. you really noticed it when you were on the road running about 50mph and nailed the throttle. Especially on a hill. We cut a hole in the top of the air box and the hesitation is gone.

Reply by midlothianjoe on 08/01/2005 08:31:59 AM